Walking Dead Season 3: Prison Bound

POSTING BY BIG ANGRY

The biggest prison appearance since Cash went to Folsom: The Walking Dead cast finds a new home.

Ah, October, a great time of year when you really think about it. You have football, Fall foliage, Halloween, pumpkin ale, and most importantly, The Walking Dead season premiere. I’m not going to lie, I entered into viewing the third season with an equal mixture of excitement and trepidation.  While I’m a fan of the Walking Dead, I am not a fanboy. Which means, if you are unaware,  I’m not blind to the shortcomings of the second season of AMC’s zombie drama.

It goes without saying that the expectations have been running high for the third season and the promises from the producers does nothing to reduce those expectations. I mean, c’mon, we’re talking about a dramatic, dark, zombie-filled chapter of our hero’s quest involving the prison, Michonne, and The Governor. I myself have read this portion of the comics and I’ve been very curious to see how the series will compare and diverge from the graphic novel.

So, how did they do for the season opener?

Verdict: not too shabby. Or, in other words, I’m pretty damn happy.

Gone is the long, lingering diatribes as to what should or shouldn’t be done that plagued season two. The lack of dialogue was nice; allowing the scenes to speak for themselves and create a nice, palatable intensity.  There is a good, nonverbal interaction between Rick and Daryl that conveys a strong bond that has formed in the months that have passed since the previous season.

The group has grown tighter and cohesive. They have accepted Rick as their leader and he’s taken on the roll as he should have originally. Rick isn’t the timid, questioning, pussified leader he was in the second season. No, he’s decisive, concise, and to the point.  He  job gets done, no questions asked. No preaching, no discussion, no boring what ifs.

Let’s not forget the elephant in the room: Rick’s impatience with and coldness towards Lori. Are they trying to make Lori a more likable character? Personally, I don’t care. She made that bed during season two and as far as I’m concerned, she’s earned it well. Don’t agree? I’ll simply point you to the scene in season two as she talks with Shane while he”s constructing the lookout on the windmill. End of discussion.

Of course, while I liked the premier overall, there are a few things I found out of place.

The scenes with Michonne seemed too sparse and oddly thrown in the mix. I kept getting the feeling that during the editing process, they realized they would start getting angry tweets about her absence and threw her in with the drugstore scene. Of course it was wrapped up later with Andrea’s illness, but the drugstore sequence still seemed oddly placed.

As I previously mentioned, season three opens several months after the conclusion of season two. There were a couple of times that I felt like I entered a conversation half way through it and missed something. Of course, this leaves it open for some sort of novelization or some other medium for fans to imbibe as to what went on during those missing months.

In short, I’m very happy with what I watched this evening. This season will be, in my opinion, one that will be heavily scrutinized by fans. Yes, it’s early in the game, but I like what I see so far. There’s the potential that this will be a great season for Walking Dead fans and the fanboys will be giddy as always.

Yes, I realize I have left out a lot of details regarding the specific events of the season three opener. Of course, I’m assuming you’ve already seen it and you are already agreeing or vehemently arguing with my points and readying a witty retort such as calling me a “charlatan.” Of course, if you’re looking for exact details as to what happened, I’m assuming you subscribe to Dish Network. In which case, given the horrendous service they provide (I know first hand) and you remain a subscriber, well, sucks to be you.

This is Big Angry shuffling along with The Walking Dead on The ThrowDown.

1 Comment

Filed under Mishmosh Ranting, Television

One response to “Walking Dead Season 3: Prison Bound

  1. Charlatan?? Oh, no, my good man. I know you well enough to refer to you as an actual Heretic! Great work, and spot on as always Big Angry.

Leave a Reply

