I Saw “Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory” 30 Years Ago, and I’m Still Freaked Out.

wonkaYes, some of the punch has gone out since it’s shown every 15 minutes on basic cable, but back in the day…whoa.  I don’t even want to hear about the new Johnny Depp version.  Nobody cares.  Depp needs to stop thinking he’s legit, put on his manscara, and get ready for “Pirates of the Carribean 4”. 

I’m talking old school, here.  Where the CEO of a large candy company decides to award kids a tour of the secret candy making factory, and threatens their lives.  All the while, being taught life lessons by a bunch of sawed-off, green haired little people with mad song and dance skills.  You won’t get that on the Kraft Foods tour. 

I won’t lie, originally I was a little nipper when I saw this film, I shed a few tears when they went through the tunnel on the Wonka boat.  C’mon.  Gimme a break, they cut off a chicken’s head in that scene.  Then,  proceeded to sing a ditty that told me chewing gum all the time wasn’t good for me. 

My biggest problem with this flick is the ending.  Sure, sure, I know Charlie is a poor kid that suddenly inherits a candy making empire, and all his dreams come true.  So, what happens at work next week?  Does Charlie have to dress in the freaky purple tux/top hat combo?  Is he obligated to also give tours of the factory to other children, then try drowning them in a river of chocolate?  Will the Oompa Loompas revolt like Norma Rae and unionize?  What then?

I realize now, this movie freaks me out just as much as an adult.  I’m forever frightened of Gene Wilder, but often catch myself whistling “Pure Imagination” from the film.  It really does have a good message…you can have too much of a good thing.  Yet, more importantly, a large candy manufacturer is trying to off me for liking Milk Duds too much.  Sweet dreams.  HA!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Movies

One response to “I Saw “Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory” 30 Years Ago, and I’m Still Freaked Out.

  1. Love this blog I’ll be back when I have more time.

Leave a Reply

